Banana and Chocolate Chip Muffins

on

Last week, I made my favourite Banana Cake and I find myself with having  riped bananas again this week.  So, I thought I give this recipe a try.  Muffins are lovely when you get the texture right but they taste at their best on the day you make them.  This recipe makes 12 muffins which is standard.  Any left over muffins on the day, I popped them in the freezer.  When you need muffins, you simply allow them to thaw out completely.  You can also warmed them up in the oven briefly – the chocolate chip will be melted which can be delicious!

2 cups self-raising flour
1/2 cup caster sugar
1/2 cup milk
2 eggs, lightly beaten
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
60g unsalted butter, melted
2 ripe bananas, mashed with juice of 1 lemon
200g packet Chocolate Chips, dark or milk

Preheat the oven to 200ºC.  Line a 2 x 6 muffin tins with patty cases.

Add flour and sugar in a mixing bowl.

Add mashed bananas, eggs, vanilla, milk and butter.  Stir gently until the ingredients have started to combine.  Add chocolate chips and mix it in.  It is important not to overmix the mixture, otherwise the muffins will be tough.

Spoon the mixture evenly into the muffin cases.  Bake for 20 minutes or until firm on top when lightly touched.

Leave the muffins to cool slightly before removing them onto a cooling rack to cool completely.

Enjoy!

4 Comments Add yours

  1. If there’s one combination I love it’s banana-chocolate (throw peanut butter in to the mix and I will go nuts haha, pun intended). I love how simple this recipe is, and you know, I somehow feel that if a fruit or a vegetable is included, it makes me feel less guilty eating them haha.

    Would you be interested in sharing recipes with our community of passionate foodies? We’re always on the lookout for fun, new and delicious recipes like this one. You can find us right over here: https://www.facebook.com/groups/OnlyGoodEats

    Like

    1. Sue says:

      I’m glad you like this recipe. Talking about peanut butter, my favourite flavour combinations are peanut butter and chocolate, yum!! Check out the Peanut Butter Biscuits with Oats and Chocolate recipe on this blog.
      I will check out your OnlyGoodEats Facebook page, thanks for your suggestion.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Whaaat! Those sound amazing! Need to check those out asap. Peanut butter and Chocolate is heaving, there is literally not a time when that doesn’t taste good.

        Cool! Hope to see you there!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

